See What the World is Saying About Smartwool

We love our gear, but don’t just take our word for it. Here, you can find the latest Smartwool reviews and read up on how your favorite publications put our socks and apparel to the test.
The Best High-Tech Socks to Tackle Your Next Run or Workout. Wired || April 27, 2020

"These cozy Merino wool socks are the perfect pair for colder, wetter days. They take everything we love about the natural material when used in hiking socks—it's thermoregulating, moisture-wicking, and sustainable—but slim down the design for a more active workout... the front-venting design keeps them from roasting your feet as you get further into your workout."
Read More | Shop Running Socks

Spring Sock Review. UltraRunning Magazine || April 20, 2020

"Both men’s and women’s versions use Indestructawool technology that creates a thin fabric with impressive durability. There is minimal added cushioning in these socks which have a comfortably snug fit, with mesh ventilation zones for moisture management and breathability, plus an elasticized flex zone at the ankle joint to further stabilize the fit. These are the thinnest socks in our test group, but have held up very well to high mileage so far."
Read More | Shop PhD Pro Endurance

The Best Hiking Socks for Summer Treks. Popular Mechanics || March 16, 2020

"It was just enough for absorbing impact when we hiked longer than a few miles but not so much that we found ourselves overheating. The sock always felt dry when we took it off, too. We credit our comfort to the mostly Merino fabric blend and the mesh ventilation zone at the top of the foot. Moderate compression and a tailored, gender-specific fit (the women’s version is slimmer with a narrower heel) kept the sock securely in place and prevented any slipping."
Read More | Shop Hiking Socks

Emerging Gear: Party Cooler, Pavement Snowboard, and More. Gear Junkie || March 12, 2020

"This season, Smartwool updated the style for women. The Smartwool Pro Endurance Sock ($26) is made with a blend of 49% merino wool, 44% nylon, 4% elastane, and 3% polyester. This gives the sock a little bit of everything you need: stretch, targeted ankle and sole cushion, durability, and, of course, the venting properties of wool."
Read More | Shop PhD Pro Endurance

12 Brands That Do Travel Underwear Best. Smarter Travel || March 2, 2020

"At SmarterTravel we love merino wool as a fabric for travelers because it’s temperature-regulating and super soft. That’s why Smartwool’s underwear styles are a no-brainer when you need to rely on a pair of underwear for travel."
Read More | Shop Underwear

Slopestyle: A complete guide to the best ski gear from head to toe. The Fast Company || Feb 5, 2020

"And no other wool brand beats Smartwool. The company really hit it out of the base layer park with their Merino 250 Base Layer One Piece—a onesie (with an all-important drop seat) made from performance wool that wicks away sweat, is never itchy on skin, and is warmer than (much) thicker base layers that I’ve given a go in the past."
Read More | Shop Base Layers

Effective (and Cute) Cold-Weather Gear for Your Toddler. Outside Magazine || Feb 2, 2020

"I make sure I have a pair of these from Smartwool for our coldest adventures...On top of staying warm while wet, these socks dry extremely fast."
Read More | Shop Kids

10 No-Show Socks That Won't Slip off Your Heel. Cosmopolitan || Jan 7, 2020

"One major drawback of no-show socks is the lack of warmth they provide. But these babies by Smartwool have all the benefits of warm, Merino wool mixed with the "barely there" coverage of a low-cut sock. The best of both worlds, truly."
Read More | Shop No Show Socks

Women's Winter Leggings. Ski Magazine || Jan 6, 2020

"Breathable four-way stretch fabric (a mix of nylon and elastane) help these leggings move with you, while a waistband of Merino wool and polyester ensure your midriff stays warm and dry whatever your activity."
Read More | Shop Women's Bottoms

8 Essentials for Skiers and Snowboarders, According to an Expert. USA Today || Jan 6, 2020

"A gaiter or balaclava made of wool or fleece keeps your neck insulated without too much bulk. Reviewers like Smartwool’s options, which are made of 100 percent merino wool and provide a fuzzy—but not itchy—feel."
Read More | Shop Accessories

The 9 Best Hiking Socks to Hit the Trail Comfortably. Men's Health || Nov 30, 2019

"With a flex zone at the ankle, they’re the best hiking socks to prevent blisters."
Read More | Shop Men's Outdoor Socks

The Best Winter Base Layers for Runners. Runner's World || Nov 18, 2019

"Smartwool is the GOAT when it comes to cozy wool softness that feels like sliding into clean, high-thread-count sheets."
Read More | Shop Running Gear

The Best Women's Ski Clothes. Forbes || Nov 14, 2019

"Super versatile, the Smartloft 60 Jacket uses Smartwool’s lightest weight (60 grams) of 50% recycled wool insulation plus new wool and some polyester."
Read More | Shop Women's Smartloft

This Innovative Base Layer Is Designed for Thermoregulation. Gear Patrol || Nov 11, 2019

"They’re built with an articulated performance fit and gender-specific ventilation placed for optimal thermoregulation, keeping you warm where it matters most."
Read More | Shop Intraknit Base Layers

The Best Travel Gifts This Year. Outside Magazine || Nov 10, 2019

"Performance defines the USA-made Smartwool PhD Outdoor Light Crew socks."
Read More | Shop PhD Outdoor Socks

Stay warm, dry and Happy with this Outdoor Gear . Lincoln Journal Star || Nov 4, 2019

"Smartwool’s new Merino Sport Fleece combines the appealing benefits of a fleece along with windproof and waterproof properties to give you a do-everything top. It features a Merino wool lining on the inside for that comfortable next-to-skin feel, while the synthetic outer layer provides stretch and protection from the elements."
Read More | Shop Merino Sport

These Base Layers Are Made Like Socks—Here's Why. Outside Magazine || Oct 19, 2019

"This is the first time such sock like construction has been achieved in a more complicated, made-from-merino garment."
Read More | Discover Intraknit

Smartwool x Vans? Here’s how to buy this month’s coolest product collabs. Fast Company || Oct 11, 2019

"The best part of the design (in our opinion) is that the socks are made with a virtually seamless toe, which means no uneven stitching sliding under your toes and causing madness."
Read More | Shop Smartwool X Vans

A Gross Story About the Best Long-Sleeve Running Shirt I’ve Ever Had (And Five Others to Consider). Inside Hook || Oct 3, 2019

"But I can say without any hesitation that if I had to build a collection of clothes appropriate for cold-weather runs on my own dime right now, this is still the first thing I’d buy."
Read More | Shop Running Gear

Smartwool’s Innovative New Intraknit Base Layers Will Knock Your Socks Off. The Inventory || Sept 13, 2019

"As you’d expect from Smartwool, Intraknit is incredibly comfortable, and the merino wool blend is simultaneously warm, breathable, and soft to the touch. It’s like a hug that you wear."
Read More | Discover Intraknit

I thought paying $20 for a single pair of socks was crazy, but then tried Smartwool socks and did a complete 180. Business Insider || Aug 7, 2019

"They're now my go-to pairs; since trying them, the rest of my old socks really do feel inferior."
Read More | Shop All Socks

12 Moisture-Wicking Socks That Will Keep Your Feet Dry During The Hardest Workouts. Women's Health || May 5, 2019

"These socks feel super light and won't add any bulk to your run."
Read More | Shop Women's Run Socks